Easy No-Sponge Ombre Nails Tutorial

While browsing Pinterest lately, I was struck by the coolness of the new-to-me trend of ombré nails.  Ombré is a color gradient that has been in style for the past couple of years and I have seen it in hairstyles,

7f401fa1cd8d5b83a8d26f52556b5fc6

pretty ombre hair

 

 

 

In outfits,

db7cd6ff6e91da67611b224b8da9f13e

stunning ombre sequin dress

and even in food.

slide_347753_3690761_free

delicious ombre cake

So recently, when faced with the dilemma of “what color will I paint my nails today?”, I decided to go ombré.

I scoured the web for tutorials, but most of them required a makeup sponge (which I do not own.).  So I winged it and it turned out decently okay, so I decided to write my own tutorial.

 

What you need for success:

  • Two nail polish colors, one light and one dark (for optimal contrast, use black and white – I used a sparkly light blue and a pretty non-sparkly purple)
    c562906a-4358-4e71-8edb-781692483558

    although it definitely improved my nail painting experience, the decaf mocha latte was, in hindsight, completely unnecessary

     

  • A non-plastic surface, such as an old plate (I happened to have a clean PB jar lid at my disposal) for blending the nail colors
  • Optional: a nail polish brush (for optimal success)

Instructions:

  1. Paint your pinky nail with the dark color.  I applied two coats of the purple nail polish to each of my pinkies.
  2. Paint your thumbnails with the light color.  I applied two coats of the sparkly light blue polish to each of my thumbnails.
  3. To make the nail polish color for the index finger, use your mixing dish/PB lid jar to mix two drops of the light color with one drop of the dark color and blend.  Apply two coats to both your index fingers.
  4. To make the nail polish color for the middle finger, mix 2-3 drops of the dark color and 2-3 drops of the light color.  Apply two coats of nail polish to both of your middle fingers.
  5. To make the nail polish color for the ring finger, mix 2-3 drops of the dark color with 1-2 drops of the light color. Apply two coats of nail polish to your ring fingers.

NOTE: I used the nail polish brush of the darker nail polish to blend the colors, but if you have a standalone nail polish brush, you can use that instead.

Voila! When you’re done, your nails should look slightly better than mine:

c1614137-ec36-408f-bcf3-ee291fe9dbf6

ombre nails! i forgot to apply a second coat to my ring finger, so the ombre looks slightly incomplete…oh well, live and learn, right?

Are you a fan of ombré?

Have a great week!

 

Leave a Reply

