Weekly Faves: Fair Isle Print

Happy Monday!

Fair Isle print, the pattern reminiscent of all things wintery, is named after Fair Isle, a tiny island in the north of Scotland, that forms part of the Shetland islands. Fair Isle knitting gained a considerable popularity when the Prince of Wales (later to become Edward VIII) wore a Fair Isle sweater in public in 1921.

prince-of-wales

The trendsetting Prince of Wales, rocking his fair isle sweater in 1921

In my sophomore year of college, I owned a sweet fair isle sweater from American Eagle, and wore it all the time.  Unfortunately, a few years later, I accidentally washed it in hot water and due to the wool content, the sweater shrank in the wash. :/ Since then, I’ve been dedicated to replacing my fair isle sweater, but so far, I haven’t had much luck.  It certainly doesn’t help that I have excluded wool sweaters from my fair isle sweater search, since most sweaters have some wool content.  But I don’t think I really want to repeat my sweater-shrinking mistake.

Here are some of my favorite fair isle pieces:

weeklyfaves021816

old navy / macy’s / macy’s / burt’s bees

ralph lauren / forever 21 / splendid / forever 21

For a sweater with some sparkle, this J. Crew sequined sweater is my absolute favorite!

Are you a fair isle fan?

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

