Review and recipe: Trader Joe’s Mocha Cappuccino Mix

I found this instant mocha powder at Trader Joe’s this weekend. I normally don’t buy sweetened coffee mixes, because they’re usually wayyyy too sweet, but I had only slept one hour so my decision-making might not have been totally on point. Let’s just say it took all the effort I could muster not to purchase a jar of cookie butter.

Trader Joe’s Mocha Cappuccino Mix

This morning, I made myself a huge mocha by using two scoops of the mix (it comes with its own scoop, which is about 3 tablespoons) and 20 ounces of hot water. It *is* really sweet but decently chocolatey.

Later in the afternoon I had this brilliant idea to add cocoa powder to the mix to decrease the sugar and caffeine content AND upping the chocolate flavor.  So I did.

Here’s my recipe for not-too-sweet, super-chocolatey instant mocha mix.

What you need for success:

1 container Trader Joe’s Mocha Cappuccino
3.5 scoops (or 10.5) tablespoons Ghirardelli unsweetened cocoa powder (I buy mine in bulk on Amazon)

Instructions:
Remove two scoops of the cappuccino mix.  Add cocoa powder to the canister and stir to combine well.

When you’re ready to enjoy a cup of not-too-sweet-but-still-really-chocolatey mocha, just combine a scoop of the mix and 12-16 ounces of hot water, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

