summertime is for creamsicles

I interrupt months of blog silence (oops.) to bring you this special announcement.

Not really, just a recipe for creamsicle soft-serve.

I will readily admit that I don’t even really like creamsicles that much, and I never understood the pull of Orange Julius (supposedly they’re still a thing … somewhere), that place at the mall known for its orange-flavored ice cream shakes.  Yet, this past weekend I had most of a bag of clementines on my hands (i.e. more than I knew what to do with), and as I’m a broke resourceful(!) grad student, I used my problem-solving skills ™ to peel them all and freeze the peeled sections in ziploc bags.

And then briefly doubted my sanity, because I don’t really know what one does with frozen oranges.  Except make creamsicles.  So, make creamsicles I did.  Sort of.

creamsicle soft serve (serves 1):

2-3 clementines, frozen (Gotta get that vitamin c.)

1/2 banana, frozen

1t vanilla

1/3 c water

1-2 tbsp. almond butter (or any other nut butter.  a serving of protein powder would probs be good, too, though.  gonna try that next!)

1/2 square baker’s chocolate (optional)

Add all ingredients to blender.  Blend. Feast!

This morning I had some creamsicle soft-serve alongside a microwave protein muffin.

And I still have some clementines left in my freezer.  So, my question to you, dear reader: got any good recipes using frozen oranges?

Leave a Reply

